Fines & Fees/Payment Information

Fines & Fees

The amount of fine the court assesses is determined by the facts and circumstances of the case. Mitigating circumstances may lower the fine, even if you are guilty. Alternatively, aggravating circumstances may increase the fine.
The maximum fine: 

  • for most municipal court traffic violations is $200 plus court costs; 
  • for misdemeanor state law violations is $500 plus court costs; 
  • for certain city ordinance violations is $2,000 plus court costs;
  • and for other city ordinance violations is $500 plus court costs. 

Pursuant to Chapter 51 of the Texas Government Code, the Court is required to collect a $25 fee on each conviction for which "time to pay" is granted. If any part of the fines/fees total is 31 or more days past due, the state mandated Time To Pay (TTP) fee of $25 will be added to each outstanding violation.

If you choose to do a Defensive Driving  Course for a violation that occurred in a school zone, an additional $25 Child Safety Fee will be assessed by State Statatory Law.

If a warrant is issued for your arrest, the fine and fees will increase, an additional $50 warrant fee will be added, you will be declined to renew or change your Texas Driver's License, and a 30% additional fee will be added to all the above for attorney fees.. 


Payment Information

Payments may be made using the following methods:

  • Pay in person at the Decatur Municipal Court of Record
    • 201 E Walnut, Decatur TX, 76234
      • Located in the Decatur City Hall building.
    • The Court accepts the following:
      • Cash
      • Check (no temporary or out-of-state checks)
      • Money order
      • Cashier's check
      • credit/debit cardDMC Pay Online Opens in new window
  • Pay online by CLICKING HERE
    • Click the "Decatur Municipal Court of Record" link in the menu bar on the right side of the page.
    • Enter your Citation Number and date of birth EXACTLY as it appears on your citation.
      • Citation number is case sensitive.
    • PLEASE NOTE: fines and fees for juvenile cases cannot be paid online prior to disposition (going before the Court).
  • Pay by phone
    • Call 1-800-444-1187
      • Additional fees will apply for this service.